Italian Affogato Recipe

I thought so hard for the drink recipe I would like to end the year with on the blog and the two recipes that came to mind were Affogato and Espresso martini (recipe coming soon) I settled for this Italian classic coffee drink recipe because it is

Inexpensive

Quick

Super easy and simple

It is perfect for any time of the year.

Finally, you will likely have the 2 ingredients at hand.

Oh coffee

I believe life is too short to drink boring coffee and that is why I make it a point of duty to make myself the best coffee drink in the mornings especially. I would say I have developed my coffee taste buds over time, I still like to keep things simple especially for the coffee recipes I share on the blog. Nobody should go out of pocket over a cup of coffee, life is not hard! Allow me to brag a little but I make the best-iced coffee and mocha. There, I said it! Ok, back to today’s recipe, which is not really a recipe per say, you may want to know the meaning of affogato and where it originated from

What is affogato

Affogato is an Italian word for “drowning” and in this case, affogato coffee or affogato al caffee is drowned coffee. The coffee in the recipe is drowned by the ice cream. Who would have thought espresso over ice cream is a delight, but hey don’t knock it until you try it. This is amazing especially if you love coffee.

What do you need to make it

To make your own affogato ice cream or affogato coffee as some would call it, you would need these 2 ingredients. Vanilla Ice cream: please whatever you do make sure you go for quality ice cream. Also, remember that expensive doesn’t necessarily mean quality. Go for the ice cream, that is smooth and with a good hint of vanilla flavour, preferably from vanilla bean. Vanilla gelato is also a great option, in fact, that is the ice cream of choice by the Italians. Brewed Espresso coffee: I do not own a coffee machine and I still make the meanest coffee. What I am trying to say is that you do not need a fancy gadget for this. Your french press works just fine and you can use instant Espresso powder of choice for this recipe too. Toppings ideas Chocolate shavings Chopped nuts of choice Whipped cream (not authentic but you can use this if you really want to go all out on treating yourself) Coffee liqueur

How to make affogato coffee

Put 1 to 2 scoops of vanilla ice cream into a chilled glass. Pour the brewed hot espresso coffee over the ice cream, add some chocolate shavings and serve immediately.

How to eat it

I know you may want to know how you eat ice cream and coffee. Well, since this is classed as (a warm) dessert, you eat it with a spoon like you would with apple crumble, banana mug cake or chocolate mousse (recipe coming soon)

More drink recipes

Coffee smoothie Oreos Milkshake (YouTube Video) How to make hot coffee (YouTube Video) Dalgona coffee Thank you all for an amazing 2020! May the new year bring us good health, peace of mind and happiness. DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE? PLEASE RATE IT AND LEAVE ME A COMMENT. USE #THEDINNERBITE OR TAG @THEDINNERBITE ON INSTAGRAM SO I CAN SEE YOUR PHOTOS, I WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOUR CREATIONS. THANK YOU!

Affogato Recipe - 23Affogato Recipe - 39Affogato Recipe - 38Affogato Recipe - 5Affogato Recipe - 34Affogato Recipe - 1Affogato Recipe - 4Affogato Recipe - 3Affogato Recipe - 80Affogato Recipe - 38