I love/hate it when I make sweet chocolatey things like this. Love? Well they taste amazing. So could I could probably eat 10 in a row and still want more. Hate? I could probably eat 10 in a row and still want more…..

I was checking out Sally’s Baking Addiction blog the other day, and I spotted her recipe for Pumpkin Spice Truffles.  They looked so good, I decided to give them a go with my own flavour-spin on the recipe. Chris had just been given some apples from a friend at work (thanks Becky!) so that helped the decision making process. Rather than cooking the apples to a puree, I just cooked them for a few minutes - I really wanted little bites of apple in there. Shortbread seemed like the best biscuit to got for when I was trying to figure out something with a buttery-pastry taste.  It turned out to the be the perfect choice, so if you can get hold of it, then I definitely recommend using all-butter shortbread. The cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar and melted chocolate helps to bind everything together, to a soft, melt-in-your-mouth consistency. And of course, you can’t have apple pie without a touch of cinnamon! These things are amazing! So easy to make, but they’re gone in no time. I still have a couple of cooking apples left too, and I’m trying to tell myself not to make more so soon after the last batch disappeared, but I fear i’m fighting a losing battle!!

The Apple Pie Truffles Recipe:

If you like these truffles then you might like my other Christmassy truffles

Apple Pie Truffles - 60Apple Pie Truffles - 15Apple Pie Truffles - 50Apple Pie Truffles - 98Apple Pie Truffles - 4Apple Pie Truffles - 61