“Freeze! Cut! Don’t move!” “Faster, faster, faster!” “Dozer, move! MOVE!” “Chop chop chop, come on, let’s get this scene done!” “Dozer. I said MOVE!” One day, I need to use the sound that’s recorded on the footage that I shoot for the recipe videos. When I watch the clips, I’m always in hysterics when I listen to the ridiculous conversation: me batting Dozer away, listening to my mother getting all stressed out when I crack the whip to chop faster, her mocking my Baby Hands and throwing her weight around as the “talent” in my videos. And sometimes, I deliberately shout out “FREEZE!” when my mother is in a particularly awkward position – like half squatting, mid ball forming – just for my own amusement. Ba ha ha, I’m SO MEAN! Such is life when you’re an amateur videographer, working out of your home with a make-do-with-what-you-have video set up, on a $6 Bunnings DIY fake marble shooting surface, with your mother as your hand model and a dog who…..well, a dog who contributes nothing except gets in the way. We create our own amusement! Now – let’s talk Broccoli Balls!

Baked Broccoli Cheese Balls: Perfect meat-free party snacks

Today is Monday Meatball Mania, yet another “thing” I do to create my own amusement. My friend Jo from Jo Cooks and I agreed to each share a meatball recipe on the last Monday of every month. And that’s just about the only rule there is. Except….that it needs to be a meatball recipe… and these Baked Broccoli Cheese Balls are completely devoid of any form of meat. Hmm…..I wonder if Jo will declare this to be a foul? 😉 We shall see!

These babies certainly don’t taste healthy – but they are. You’ll be surprised how much broccoli you use – an entire very large head – and they are baked, not fried. They come out beautifully golden, they stay pretty round, and they’re really juicy and moist inside. I haven’t served these Baked Broccoli Cheese Balls at a gathering yet but I definitely plan to in the near future because they reheat well and I think they’ll be a total crowed pleaser. And they’re fabulous as a meal too. In the photo below, I served this with a lemon pilaf and a quick sautéed kale side (recipe in the notes!). – Nagi x

More Fabulous Broccoli Recipes

If you love broccoli as much as me, have a browse of all my broccoli recipes! -> Broccoli Recipes

More fabulous Broccoli recipes

Broccoli Gratin Super Quick Broccoli Pasta Broccoli Salad with Lighter Creamy Dressing Broccoli Fritters – plus Chicken Broccoli Fritters Easy Broccoli Cheese Soup Browse all Broccoli Recipes

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Baked Broccoli Cheese Balls recipe video!

LIFE OF DOZER

If it isn’t bad enough that he can’t even go for walks until the cut on his paw heals a bit, now I’m making him wear a sock…..!!! PS Before you mock me (and him), it is VERY practical rather than re-bandaging every day because it gets so filthy. I mean, I have four of these socks. So I only have to wash them every 4 days! 😉 PS Reminder: let’s not feel too sorry for him. He lives a darn good life.

  SaveSave

Baked Broccoli Cheese Balls - 73Baked Broccoli Cheese Balls - 55Baked Broccoli Cheese Balls - 70Baked Broccoli Cheese Balls - 56Baked Broccoli Cheese Balls - 29Baked Broccoli Cheese Balls - 22Baked Broccoli Cheese Balls - 1