Four weeks into my diet, and a new chippy has just opened up the road from us (groan!!). Served in paper (those polystyrene containers just aren’t the same) with an obscene amount of salt and vinegar (more than I would add to ANY other food), chippy chips should be outlawed for their addictiveness. Well, only whilst I’m on a diet. The rest of the time we can all eat them. I’d like to say I’ve been really good this week and the weight is falling off me, but i’ve been making cheesecake-filled easter eggs, rhubarb crumble cake, creme egg truffles and chocolate cherry tarts.

I’ve not just been making them to consume in front of the TV (although a little bit of it may have been eaten that way), most of it is for freelance work - which is currently going Easter and dessert crazy! So, this is me, on a bit of a naughty-foods-high, weaning myself back onto something that isn’t smothered in chocolate, or deep fried in oil. Baked Fish and Chips with Lemon Smashed Peas.

And let me just say, it was not hard to scoff this healthier take on the chippy tea AT ALL. Soft, flaky fish, topped with crispy-seasoned breadcrumbs and served with crunchy potato wedges and good old mushy peas (smashed together with a little creme fraiche and lemon for a luxurious taste). I love a good fakeaway 😀 I first made this recipe for Superfood Magazine.

Baked Fish and Chips with Lemon Smashed Peas Recipe:

Baked Fish and Chips with Lemon Smashed Peas - 80Baked Fish and Chips with Lemon Smashed Peas - 32Baked Fish and Chips with Lemon Smashed Peas - 19Baked Fish and Chips with Lemon Smashed Peas - 30Baked Fish and Chips with Lemon Smashed Peas - 87Baked Fish and Chips with Lemon Smashed Peas - 69