Did I just invent potato skin croutons? No, I don’t think so. I thought I did, but after a quick google search, it seems nothing is really new in the recipe world. Oh well. They are flippin awesome though. Baking the sweet potatoes gives a thicker, smooth and ever-so-slightly smoky flavour to the soup. Normally I would probably just eat the leftover skin with a bit of butter (I’m definitely a potato-skin girl), but not this time! Cutting that skin into little squares, sprinkling on some cheese and baking for another few minutes makes an amazing soup topping!

If a potato is baked properly – crispy skin a must – then that’s my favourite bit of a jacket spud. I can’t understand people who leave it on their plate, like it’s a wrapper for their actual food. Eat your fibre people!! I tend to make more regular baked potatoes than sweet, but in certain circumstances, I find sweet potatoes to be the better option (i.e these Thai inspired sweet potato skins). I’ve yet to try that American classic – sweet potato with marshmallow. My UK tastebuds still find the thought of that combination a little too out there!! Maybe I should surprise everyone and put it on the table this Christmas 🙂 But for now, I’ll stick to the soup. Autumn has arrived, it’s cold and I just want warming bowl food. I’m sure I’ll be working my way through all of my other soup recipes again too (especially the chicken pot pie soup one!!). Fyi - I first created this recipe for Superfood Magazine.

Baked sweet potato and carrot soup with cheddar potato skin croutons Recipe:

 

Baked sweet potato and carrot soup with cheddar potato skin croutons - 87Baked sweet potato and carrot soup with cheddar potato skin croutons - 45Baked sweet potato and carrot soup with cheddar potato skin croutons - 4Baked sweet potato and carrot soup with cheddar potato skin croutons - 75Baked sweet potato and carrot soup with cheddar potato skin croutons - 30Baked sweet potato and carrot soup with cheddar potato skin croutons - 38