There’s really nothing like taking a dessert and turning it into a breakfast.  In my eyes, it’s a perfectly socially acceptable way to get your sweet fix without the guilt you’d have if you ate a slice of chocolate cake before the school run. I’ve been looking forward to sharing this creation with you.  I did something similar last year as part of my sweet toasties series and I’ve been meaning to make something with the mascarpone/lemon curd/blueberry compote combination ever since. I originally shared it over at the beautiful Craftberry Bush blog, but Lucy is kind enough to let me include the recipes I create for her on my blog too, so we can all enjoy pancakes together yay!! These light and fluffy pancakes taste amazing with the addition of creamy mascarpone (you can replace with Greek yogurt if you like), lemon curd and some ultra-quick blueberry compote.

My kids love it when I photograph pancake recipes. I know there’s no way on earth I’d be able to make and photograph them first thing (so they could have them for breakfast).  I’d just have two whiney kids, standing at the edge of the frame with bellys rumbling and Oliver Twist eyes. So instead I give them breakfast as normal, and then make the pancakes mid-morning. No-one in my house is ever going to say no to pancakes for lunch.  Especially these pancakes!!

The recipe makes 12, so if you have some mix leftover, make the pancakes anyway.  Then let them cool and layer between pieces of baking parchment.  You can then store in the fridge for the next day, or pop them in a bag and freeze them (defrost them the night before you need them).  Then pop them in the toaster to heat through for a speedy pancake fix.

The Blueberry Lemon Cheesecake Pancakes Recipe:

  Directions:

Blueberry Lemon Cheesecake Pancakes - 54Blueberry Lemon Cheesecake Pancakes - 43Blueberry Lemon Cheesecake Pancakes - 15Blueberry Lemon Cheesecake Pancakes - 13Blueberry Lemon Cheesecake Pancakes - 69