I must state very clearly right now. This is not quiche. It’s the first thing Chris asked when I put it on the table, and I’m pretty sure the kids would have turned their noses up if they though it was quiche too. I’m quite partial to that retro party dish that always appears on the buffet table! But I know not to bother making it at home.

That means these tarts are not filled with eggs. Yes, I brushed a bit of egg on the pastry, but that’s it. No wobbly egg texture, just creamy, tomatoey deliciousness. (I love that my job let’s me use words like tomatoey deliciousness in everyday life. In my old job it was all ‘Risk Management’, ‘Business Case’, ‘Approved Spend’ blah blah blah yawn!!) I was having a veggie day when I made these tarts. I’d spotted some colourful tomatoes that called out to me (and made me buy three boxes!), so I spent the day making tarts, and veggie pizza recipes with homemade flatbread dough (on the blog next week!). I’ve still got a box of tomatoes left, so I think I’ll use them to video my panzanella with saganaki later on.

I used ready-made shortcrust to make the tarts, because well, sometimes (80% of the time) I just can’t be bothered to make pastry. I’m too eager to start experimenting with fillings and toppings. The result was a big thumbs-up all round. They were amazing served up with a big salad. Due to the fact that we’re a a greedy family, I ended up serving the pizza alongside these tarts for dinner too. Hmmm tart/pie and pizza. Sometimes I need to see it written down in front of me so that I understand why the scales aren’t going down - despite my no-snacking-in-the-evening policy. Only a few months until our holiday in Florida, and I really need to lose half a stone so I can eat everything!!

The Cheese and Tomato Tarts Recipe:

Cheese and Tomato Tarts  Not Quiche    - 54Cheese and Tomato Tarts  Not Quiche    - 47Cheese and Tomato Tarts  Not Quiche    - 80Cheese and Tomato Tarts  Not Quiche    - 38Cheese and Tomato Tarts  Not Quiche    - 28Cheese and Tomato Tarts  Not Quiche    - 97