I think it’s fair to say I’ve had a few too many cakes lately….. In an attempt to balance out the naughty stuff, I made this lovely, healthy chickpea and lemon soup, which is actually quite filling considering it’s only 185 calories per serving. I don’t tend to count calories on food, (unless I’m congratulating myself on how healthy it is!!) But I thought it would be good to start building up a few low cal recipes as a go-to for those days when I want to eat a little lighter without feeling like I’m missing out.  So I’ve started a new category called ‘Skinny Eats’.  My intention is to add tasty meals that are no more than 500 calories.  I may add a few low calorie snacks in there too. It’s simple to make, and you can really add whatever veg you’ve got lying about.  I had some sweet potatoes in the cupboard, which are always great in soup as they add a silky sweetness and also help to thicken the soup.  Carrots, butternut squash, parsnips or peppers would also be good.

Chickpea and Lemon Soup Recipe:

 

Chickpea and Lemon Soup - 57Chickpea and Lemon Soup - 64Chickpea and Lemon Soup - 4