Sometimes it’s such a chore having leftover chocolate cake mix.  It would be wasteful and irresponsible to throw it away, so I guess I’ll just have to find something to do with it. Sigh. Hmmm those bananas need using up.  And that cream will never get used before it goes off too. I’m sure I’ve got a tin of dulce de leche gathering a minute amount of dust at the back of my cupboard (only actually been in there about 5 days). Brain cogs turning. Sigh turns to smirk. That is how this naughty, creamy, chocolatey, large mouthfuls of joy came into being.

I’d been making a chocolate birthday cake with my daughter, and we came to the conclusion that we’d made far too much cake batter.  Probably not the toughest chore of my life to figure out what to do with it, but I do like to be melodramatic occasionally (mouth shut please Chris!).  It turned out to be a wonderful potential catastrophe 🙂 These Chocolate Banana Sundae Cupcakes are a perfect coffee time snack! You might notice I’m trying a few new things with my recipe write-up today:

I’ve tried using measurements in cups and tbsp/tsp rather than grams.  I’ve found that the vast majority of you lovely readers are based in the US.  I’ve been getting some requests for conversions - so I figured this change be useful for both US readers and readers from other countries.  Please let me know if I’ve got that completely wrong! I’m not sure if I’ll stick to this format or whether using cups and oz’s might be better? Finally I’ve included nutritional info at the bottom of the recipe (I know I know! why didn’t I use a salad or something for the first time I did this instead of trying to scare you off the recipe with the sheer number of calories!!).  Is this useful? Any feedback would be really appreciated 🙂

Chocolate Banana Sundae Cupcakes Recipe:

< p style=“text-align: center;">Nutritional info obtained from caloriecount.about.com

Chocolate Banana Sundae Cupcakes   KitchenSanctuary com - 56Chocolate Banana Sundae Cupcakes   KitchenSanctuary com - 83Chocolate Banana Sundae Cupcakes   KitchenSanctuary com - 19Chocolate Banana Sundae Cupcakes   KitchenSanctuary com - 84