This is based on a recipe by Bobby Flay, one of my grilling idols. His shows started airing in Australia a few years ago and I was hooked. Though I have to say…gosh, this could get me in trouble…Does anyone else think he really should consider wearing sunglasses? Because he always seems to be squinting!! 😉 I think he is incredibly talented at bringing together unique flavours with familiar ingredients. I have a killer of a 3 ingredient glazed pork chop recipe of his that I regularly use which I plan to share soon. But as for this coconut marinated chicken – I am not actually sure whether he had it on his show. I got it from his book, Bobby Flay’s Barbecue Addiction. He makes this with pork tenderloin and has a relish to accompany it. I tried it with pork tenderloin but found that it was difficult to cook to make it moist and tender on the grill. But the flavour was so awesome that I decided to give it a go with chicken – and scored! It’s sensational!

I like to make a coconut based sauce to serve with the chicken, just to really drive home the coconut flavour. It’s made using the excess marinade – but don’t worry, it’s simmered rapidly to make it safe for consumption. The chicken is sensational as it is, but honestly, the sauce “makes” this. I do hope you consider giving this a go! – Nagi x

If you love coconut milk sauces, you’ll love these!

Easy Coconut Curry An amazing easy Thai Coconut Noodle Soup Salmon in Coconut Lime Sauce Coconut Pot Roasted Chicken Thai Coconut Chicken Thai Green Curry and Red Curry

And more of my favourite Asian Chicken recipes

All these are ideal for grilling but can also be cooked on the stove

Thai Satay Chicken Skewers with Peanut Sauce Yakitori Chicken – Japanese chicken skewers on my mother’s Japanese recipe website, RecipeTin Japan Thai Grilled Chicken (Gai Yang) – marinated in a fragrant Thai marinade Vietnamese Lemongrass Chicken – infused with beautiful Vietnamese lemongrass flavours Asian Chicken – marinated in a great Asian marinade that’s sweet sand savoury

  SaveSave SaveSave

Coconut Marinated Chicken  Grill  stove  - 69Coconut Marinated Chicken  Grill  stove  - 63Coconut Marinated Chicken  Grill  stove  - 53Coconut Marinated Chicken  Grill  stove  - 58Coconut Marinated Chicken  Grill  stove  - 42