This recipe was created in partnership with Bertolli. When I was first introduced to coffee-crusted steak about a year ago, it totally confused me. I mean, are you supposed to taste the coffee? Should I use old coffee grounds? Am I supposed to wash them off before cooking the steak (after all, the grounds are the bit you’re supposed to throw away right!), should I be using instant coffee?

So here are the answers to those questions:

Use fresh, finely ground coffee Yes, the coffee grounds are supposed to stay on the meat - you eat them (but they’re not gritty or overpowering - honest!) Definitely don’t use instant coffee!

Also, mix those coffee grounds with spices and you’ll have the most tasty coating ever! Often when cooking regular steak, I find it best to rub oil on the meat before frying. However you can’t really do that with a coated steak, so instead I melted Bertolli Butter & Olive oil on my griddle and fried the steaks in that. The olive oil in the butter means you can cook the butter - even at high temperatures, without risk of it burning. So you get the benefits of the olive oil, whilst also ensuring a richer flavour - due to the butter. It worked so well, I did the same thing when griddling the vegetables too!

The steak is served on a bed of herby bulgur wheat, along with griddled peppers, onions and caramelized grapefruit (so good!! The acidity of the grapefruit works really well with the richness of the meat). I also made some spiced garlic butter (using the Bertoll Butter & Olive Oil again) to top the steak. The butter melts into the steak and flavours the bulgur wheat - totally moreish! I’d normally save steak for a weekend meal, but the whole meal only takes around 30 minutes to prepare, so this was our Tuesday night treat. Cutting the meat into slices, means that in theory, two steaks will feed four people. Fortunately for us, Lewis was away on a school trip, so we only had to share the steak between three of us 🙂

Coffee Crusted Steak Buddha Bowl with Spiced Butter Recipe:

   

Coffee Crusted Steak Buddha Bowl with Spiced Butter - 59Coffee Crusted Steak Buddha Bowl with Spiced Butter - 85Coffee Crusted Steak Buddha Bowl with Spiced Butter - 90Coffee Crusted Steak Buddha Bowl with Spiced Butter - 56Coffee Crusted Steak Buddha Bowl with Spiced Butter - 97Coffee Crusted Steak Buddha Bowl with Spiced Butter - 69