I saw this on a Chinese cooking program years ago. I can’t remember what the show was, but I do remember being dubious. Just 5 ingredients? How good can they be? I frequently see cooking hacks with very few ingredients and often they are made using cake mixes or store bought sauces. Which I have no problem with per se, it is just not my way of cooking because I like to cook from scratch as much as (practicably) possible. But this caught my eye because rarely do you see 3 or 5 ingredient recipes for Asian dishes. And even more rarely from cooking show presenters! (Who, who, who was it?? Does anyone know??!!). I tried it out of curiosity and was astonished at how good it was! Fundamentally, the secret is the Chinese Five Spice Powder which is a mix of a number of spices. Plus also the crispy rice paper wrapped around the juicy fish. Those little factors really make this simple dish into something that is so tasty I would proudly serve it at a party!

Have you seen rice paper at the supermarket and wondered what to do with it? Here in Australia, it’s sold in all the major supermarkets (Coles, Woolworths) and of course Asian stores. They cost $2 or so for a pack of 20 – dirty cheap! So here’s a unique way to use the rice paper – wrapping fish in it, then pan frying it so it becomes beautifully crispy while retaining the juices of the fish so it cooks in its own juices. I know some people are afraid of working with rice paper because it can be hard to handle if you don’t know the tricks of the trade. There is only one key tip: do not over soak it! Dunk it in warm tap water for 3 seconds, then place it on your work surface. It should still be a bit firm when you place it on the work surface and in seconds, it continues to absorb the water so by the time you start wrapping the fish, it is soft and pliable. 🙂 See how easy this recipe is? Cut fish, sprinkle with Five Spice + salt, top with cilantro/coriander, wrap, pan fry until crisp.

A few reasons why this recipe works so well include: So the next time you wheel your trolley past the Asian section in your supermarket, grab a package of rice paper and try these! – Nagi x PS I made these bite size but you can make larger ones. Just overlap 2 or more rice papers on your work surface and enclose larger pieces of fish!

PPS Ordinarily I make this with 1.1lb/600g of fish which is enough to serve 4. But I dropped a fillet and DOZER (my abnormally large 80lb/40kg retriever) got to it before I could rescue it! So what you see in the photos is less than what the recipe makes.

  SaveSave

Crispy Chinese Rice Paper Wrapped Fish - 37Crispy Chinese Rice Paper Wrapped Fish - 51Crispy Chinese Rice Paper Wrapped Fish - 16Crispy Chinese Rice Paper Wrapped Fish - 38Crispy Chinese Rice Paper Wrapped Fish - 51Crispy Chinese Rice Paper Wrapped Fish - 24Crispy Chinese Rice Paper Wrapped Fish - 99Crispy Chinese Rice Paper Wrapped Fish - 30