I won’t say I am a big fan of cabbage, but you can always catch me making this sautéed cabbage every now and then. I love the fact that it is healthy, low carb and if paired with protein, it can make a complete meal. Three things you would find me making with cabbage are coleslaw, wraps and of course in today’s recipe, sautéed cabbage. There was a time I tried this cabbage recipe for a week with roasted chicken as meal prep. I shared it on my Instagram page, and I was surprised by how many people wanted the recipe. I said “surprised” because I didn’t think anyone would fancy cabbage that much out of all vegetables. Apart from the ways of eating and using cabbage that I mentioned above, my other favourite way of cooking cabbage is this stove top method. Sautéed cabbage is easy to make, and it come together in 15 minutes. As much as I enjoyed this cabbage recipe, one other thing I find therapeutic about it is the cutting of the cabbage itself or should I say shredding the cabbage.  Before I start rambling too much, today’s post is a quick one to show you how to make sautéed cabbage, so let’s get right into it.

What you would need to make sauteed cabbage

This recipe is so simple, you’ll need a handful of ingredients to make it too Cabbage: I only prefer to use shredded white cabbage i.e. the green cabbage. I rarely use purple cabbage but feel free to do so if it’s what you have. Other alternative includes savoy cabbage, I love it for the colour and texture. Depending on how many people you are catering for, one small head cabbage would feed four people conveniently. Butter and Olive oil: I love using the combination of the two, especially because the butter adds great flavour to the sautéed cabbage. I recommend you use a good quality butter. For the olive oil please stick with the light olive oil as the smell of extra virgin olive oil can overpower this simple dish. Salt and pepper: I used ground black pepper, but you can also use rep pepper flakes if that is what you have

Sauteed cabbage variation

Other ingredients you could add to your sautéed cabbage include Chopped onions, shredded carrots, garlic, leeks or bacon just to mention a few. You may also add spices and herbs of choice.

How To Make Sautéed Cabbage

Place a large skillet over medium heat, add olive oil and butter and heat until hot. Add the cabbage and stir to combine. Cabbage does take time to wilt so you would need a bit of patience before you start seeing any changes. Alternatively, cook the cabbage in batches and adjust olive oil and butter to taste. After about 5 minutes of stirring, season with salt and pepper and mix to combine. Leave the cabbage untouched for another 2 to 3 minutes and then stir. After about 10 minutes, the cabbage will start to become tender and brown. Stop stirring and leave the cabbage for another 2 to 3 minutes to brown further but not burnt. Taste to see if it’s to your liking at this point, adjust pepper and salt to taste. Finally, stir to combine. Take it off the heat and serve warm

How To Serve Sauteed Cabbage

Sauteed cabbage can be served as a side to almost any meal, serve this sautéed cabbage with this instant pot coconut rice. In fact, this was served with honey garlic pork chops, if you don’t like pork, no worries you may like this honey garlic salmon. Serve it alongside your Sunday roast or even with meal prep, sautéed cabbage can be eaten with these stovetop chicken thighs or easy baked drumsticks for a complete meal.

How long to store cooked cabbage

Cooked cabbage can be stored for up to 5 days in the fridge under the right temperature. Frozen cabbage can be stored in the freezer for up to 3 months

Other recipes on the blog you would

love

Roasted potatoes Lemon garlic pasta Instant pot Guinness beef stew Colcannon (Kale and mash) Do you have leftover from this sautéed cabbage, add it to this delicious healthy homemade vegetable soup. If you made this easy cabbage recipe, don’t forget to leave me feedback and rate it. Tag me @thedinnerbite on Instagram and save away to your Pinterest. Please subscribe to the blog if you haven’t for free new recipes in your inbox DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE? PLEASE RATE IT AND LEAVE ME A COMMENT. USE #THEDINNERBITE OR TAG @THEDINNERBITE ON INSTAGRAM SO I CAN SEE YOUR PHOTOS, I WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOUR CREATIONS. THANK YOU!

Easy Sauteed Cabbage Recipe - 52Easy Sauteed Cabbage Recipe - 40Easy Sauteed Cabbage Recipe - 55Easy Sauteed Cabbage Recipe - 27Easy Sauteed Cabbage Recipe - 47Easy Sauteed Cabbage Recipe - 82Easy Sauteed Cabbage Recipe - 73Easy Sauteed Cabbage Recipe - 36Easy Sauteed Cabbage Recipe - 94Easy Sauteed Cabbage Recipe - 36