Flatbread recipe

I love fresh homemade bread. And though I bake bread with yeast more frequently nowadays, I still find it easier and a general preference to make bread without yeast. Maximum taste, most tasty outcome with minimum effort – but without compromising on the end result. That’s my ultimate goal and the ethos that underpins every recipe I share here on RecipeTin Eats. Over the years, I have tried a lot of flatbread recipes. Flatbreads from many different cuisines, from blogs and cooking sites, by home cooks, from reality cooking shows (yes, Master Chef and My Kitchen Rules!), serious chefs and celebrity chefs. But I always found they were too doughy (e.g. the ones that only use yoghurt as the wet ingredient) or too crisp to use as a wrap unless they were moistened with lashings of butter. Absolutely delicious, mind you. But not what I was after. So this recipe is my idea of a perfect flatbread recipe.

How to make Flatbread – with NO yeast

This flatbread recipe is made with no yeast. It is very easy to make, requiring just a minute or two of kneading. And it honestly is beautifully soft and pliable. So soft you can use it as a wrap and it won’t crack. And of course, it is perfect to be used as pita bread, for things like Greek Gyros and Greek Chicken Souvlaki. And here I have used it as “naan” as a side for Butter Chicken. When I make it to be like “naan”, I cook it on a slightly higher heat to get larger and more brown bits on it – just like real naan! The crust gets slightly crispier so it’s not as suited to use as a wrap, like in the above photo. (PS If you’ve got the time to make proper naan, try my Naan recipe. It’s just like the real deal!) If you’ve never tried homemade bread before, this flatbread recipe is a great one to start with because it really is that easy. The worst that can happen with this flatbread recipe is that the heat is too high when you cook it so the exterior ends up a bit too crunchy and cracks when you roll it. If that happens, just spray it with olive oil or brush lightly with oil or butter and it will moisten the surface. Try this once, and store-bought flatbreads will never be the same again. That I can promise! – Nagi x

Watch how to make it

Life of Dozer

Summer, autumn, spring and winter. Rain, hail or shine.

Easy Soft Flatbread Recipe  No Yeast  - 16Easy Soft Flatbread Recipe  No Yeast  - 95Easy Soft Flatbread Recipe  No Yeast  - 8Easy Soft Flatbread Recipe  No Yeast  - 3Easy Soft Flatbread Recipe  No Yeast  - 77Easy Soft Flatbread Recipe  No Yeast  - 1Easy Soft Flatbread Recipe  No Yeast  - 8