There aren’t many recipes I can get away with serving at dinner time that don’t involve meat, but this Feta and Couscous Stuffed Roasted Romano Peppers recipe is definitely one of them. Lightly charred romano peppers, stuffed with herby couscous and creamy feta cheese, then finished off with olives (no black ones for me though bleurgh!) and cucumber. I love to serve these pretty looking peppers on a bed of baby mixed leaves. The bright red of the romano peppers really stands out against the green of the leaves. The whole thing is served with a light, lemon-garlic dressing.

Of course you don’t have to serve them on their own. They work as a wonderful side dish for salmon or chicken kebabs. I’m looking forward to serving them at our next barbeque. Now that we’ve got TWO barbeques (don’t ask, Chris just feels like he needs two…), we’re waiting on tenterhooks for a lovely warm weekend. I’m dreaming about lamb souvlaki, grilled peaches, honey garlic chicken skewers and these lovely stuffed peppers. I might even serve them with some spicy Dark & Stormy cocktails. Have you ever tried one? OMG – my absolute favourite boozy drink! Spicy ginger beer, lime juice and spiced rum, served over ice. In fact I might just have to put that on one the blog (even if I have already just told you how to make it!).

You could also roast the peppers on the barbeque rather than in the oven for this recipe, although I’d probably only give them 5-10 minutes on there as they can easily burn (spoken like someone who actually knows how to cook on a BBQ. I’m not even allowed near it!). Do you have an interesting BBQ or cocktail recipe? I’d love to hear. FYI – my recipe for these stuffed romano peppers first appeared in Superfoods magazine.

The Feta and Couscous Stuffed Roasted Romano Peppers Recipe:

Feta and Couscous Stuffed Roasted Romano Peppers - 77Feta and Couscous Stuffed Roasted Romano Peppers - 56Feta and Couscous Stuffed Roasted Romano Peppers - 54Feta and Couscous Stuffed Roasted Romano Peppers - 69Feta and Couscous Stuffed Roasted Romano Peppers - 93Feta and Couscous Stuffed Roasted Romano Peppers - 22