Fresh cherries are so tasty right now!! I remember my mum coming home with paper bags of cherries when I was little and it was so exciting. They were expensive, so a bit of a rare treat. We’d sit on the sofa and eat the lot, nibbling around the stone. If you could eat all the flesh whilst leaving the stone attached the stem there was a real sense of achievement! I still see them as a treat even now, but only when they come in paper bags. The ones sealed in plastic cartons just aren’t the same.

I attempted to use my cherry stoner for this cake. Man that’s one fiddly job! Am I missing the knack or are my hands supposed be be dyed red by the time I’ve finished?

You can use the tinned variety (the ones in the canned cherry pie mix are nice) if you don’t want to de-stone all those cherries! This is an adapted version of the rhubarb and amaretti cake I made a couple of months ago. I loved the tender, crumbly cake so much I decided to play around with a gluten free version. Since there’s only a little flour in the rhubarb cake, swapping it out like-for-like with gluten free flour makes no difference to how good the cake tastes. Of course, you can use regular flour if you don’t need a gluten free version.

Serve this cake warm with ice cream or custard, or cool with cream (or on it’s own as a tinfoil-wrapped handbag snack - yes I did that).

The Gluten Free Cherry and Almond Cake Recipe:

Gluten Free Cherry and Almond Cake - 73Gluten Free Cherry and Almond Cake - 43Gluten Free Cherry and Almond Cake - 15Gluten Free Cherry and Almond Cake - 35Gluten Free Cherry and Almond Cake - 5Gluten Free Cherry and Almond Cake - 24Gluten Free Cherry and Almond Cake - 95Gluten Free Cherry and Almond Cake - 5Gluten Free Cherry and Almond Cake - 43