Sweet and Sour chicken is one of my favourite Chinese dishes, along with Peking duck, and Crispy Chilli Beef.  However, I do tend to regret getting a takeaway when I’m sat on the sofa later feeling overly full, thirsty and generally unhealthy. So this is my way of doing things at home.  I’m not denying it  - it’s still got a bit of naughtiness in there, so it hasn’t made my skinny eats category but this is way better than your average Chinese takeout.  ‘Why?’ I hear you ask.  Well here we go:

I’ve used chicken thighs rather than breast meat, as it’s much more moist and tender, and it lends itself well to being baked in the oven in small pieces. I like to cook the veg and sauce in a pan on the hob and then pour it over the chicken and place it back in the oven for the last 5 minutes of baking.  This means the chicken is thoroughly coated in the tasty sauce, and I can then put the baking dish straight on the table for everyone to help themselves. If you want to keep your chicken as crisp as possible, then i’d suggest letting the chicken cook in the oven for the full 20 minutes and serving the veg and sauce on the side so you can pour it on right before eating.  Serve with some boiled rice or noodles and you’ve got a great tasting, well balanced meal for the whole family! I’m bringing this recipe to share with my fellow blogging friends at Angie’s Fiesta Friday #30.  Every Friday we all get together to share our latest recipes.  Check it out 🙂

Healthier Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe:

   

Healthier Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken - 7Healthier Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken - 28Healthier Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken - 5Healthier Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken - 28