I love a good curry at the weekend. I’ll often reach for the ready-made curry paste out of convenience, but in fact it only takes 5 minutes more to make your own paste from scratch. The result is a fresher, more vibrant taste, with the added bonus that you can adjust the heat to whatever level you fancy. Nearly all of the ingredients are strong in flavour, but they meld together perfectly for a taste explosion!

  I’m using reduced fat coconut milk, just to help keep the fat content down a little, but you can use full fat if you prefer. If you do use the reduced fat coconut milk, it’s important to remember not to boil the curry, as the coconut milk is likely to separate, making it look a little lumpy. Healthier food really can taste good!

  I’m on my last week with my personal trainer this week. I managed to lose 7 pounds over the 5 weeks, which I’m pretty happy with, as I made a special point of not starving myself (in fact that’s one of my main aims in life). I probably had a few too many cheat days – otherwise I might have got to my 10 pound target – but I’m determined to get those last 3 pounds off before Easter. Easy dinner swaps like this have been great in helping to fill me up, without feeling deprived - you know - that feeling were you still need ‘something’ to satisfy your appetite in the evening. I hate that feeling! If you like this red curry, try my skinny green Thai curry too:

  or my slow cooker spicy beef curry:

Add lots of veggies in to up the nutritional value. You can even serve with cauliflower rice if you’re being really good! The sauciness of the curries soaks into the cauliflower rice, making it really tasty. I first made this recipe for SuperFood Magazine.

The Healthier Red Thai Chicken Curry Recipe:

 

Healthier Red Thai Chicken Curry   without the shop bought sauce  - 66Healthier Red Thai Chicken Curry   without the shop bought sauce  - 92Healthier Red Thai Chicken Curry   without the shop bought sauce  - 43Healthier Red Thai Chicken Curry   without the shop bought sauce  - 89Healthier Red Thai Chicken Curry   without the shop bought sauce  - 65Healthier Red Thai Chicken Curry   without the shop bought sauce  - 26Healthier Red Thai Chicken Curry   without the shop bought sauce  - 98Healthier Red Thai Chicken Curry   without the shop bought sauce  - 25