I love doing homemade version of chicken simmer sauces you can purchase in jars, like the Everyday Chicken Curry sauce. Homemade is a gazillion times more delicious!

Honey Mustard Chicken

How many Aussies reading this remember this jingle from the 90’s?? ?  I feel like Chicken Tonight, like Chicken Tonight!  ? It was for an advert for a range of simmer sauces called “Chicken Tonight” sold in jars at supermarkets. They still sell them today. Everything from Honey Mustard to Korma, Creamy Mushroom to Cacciatore. I have never in my life bought one, nor tried it (that I know). I do use some store bought pastes, like laksa and red curry. But I always “freshen them up”. It makes a world of difference. But I’ve never used a store bought pour and simmer sauce. I don’t mean to come across as a food snob (hey – I’ve owned up to secretly doing the McDonald’s drive through!), it is just that my mother brain washed me as a kid. Blame her. (You can message her directly on her Japanese food blog, RecipeTin Japan!). So my Honey Mustard Chicken is made from scratch. It might take 7 minutes longer to make than opening a jar. But it tastes 7 million times better! 🙂

The Honey Mustard sauce for the chicken is incredibly simple to make. The base ingredients are (this will come as a surprise…) honey and mustard which are mixed in with chicken broth and slightly thickened with flour or cornstarch / cornflour. It tastes tangy, sweet and it’s creamy even though there is no cream in it. I don’t find the need to add cream, it’s rich enough as it is. And I also love the beautiful golden colour of the sauce which gets diluted if you add cream.

In all honesty, as long as you have honey and mustard plus some form of liquid stock, even bouillon cubes, you’ll be able to make a great Honey Mustard sauce that can be used not only for chicken, but also for other white meats including fish, turkey and pork. I added a touch of thyme because the sauce is so lovely and creamy, I think it’s nice to add a touch of freshness from a herb. I’ve added some suggestions in the recipe for other herbs that I think go really well with this. Sooooo…..who feels like chicken tonight?? 😉 – Nagi x

More recipes made using Honey Mustard Sauce

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken – baked until golden with a creamy honey mustard sauce and potatoes Honey Mustard Drumsticks – tossed in a simple honey mustard sauce and baked until sticky Honey Mustard Salad Dressing – fantastic used with leafy salads or more hearty salads like roasted potato salad

Honey Mustard Chicken nutrition per serving, assuming all sauce is consumed. .

LIFE OF DOZER

Nose to tail measurement: 150 cm / 4.9 feet. Yes I am taller. By a whole 5 cm / 2 inches.

Honey Mustard Chicken - 97Honey Mustard Chicken - 38Honey Mustard Chicken - 11Honey Mustard Chicken - 69Honey Mustard Chicken - 29Honey Mustard Chicken - 98Honey Mustard Chicken - 98