You know when you see a recipe for a fast, fabulous appetiser but when you read the recipe, the ingredients cost $30 involving things like a fillet of wild caught cedar smoked Alaskan salmon (don’t you dare think of getting less than the best!) and 5 different types of herbs? I see recipes like that in gourmet magazines and I so want to be that kind of person who can spend a small fortune to be able to make gourmet food fast. But I’m not and never will be. I believe in and love quality ingredients, especially locally grown produce I often pick up at my local farmers’ market. And I will splurge on wild caught cedar smoked Alaskan salmon on occasion. But typically, I’ll serve things like that plain. Because my rule of thumb is: the more expensive an ingredient is, do less with it. But on a day to day basis, I cook with everyday ingredients and actually thrive on coming up with “gourmet” and unique ways to dress up ordinary ingredients. Like ricotta. Your stock standard, supermarket ricotta. 🙂

The thing with this baked ricotta is that it is going to be better if you make it with a fresh Italian ricotta. But it is still really fabulous made with supermarket ricotta. Especially because I share my little tip for turning ordinary ricotta into a posh type ricotta. 🙂 Baking the ricotta creates a gorgeous golden crust on the surface and it’s beautifully warm and creamy inside. (PS The better the quality of the ricotta, the creamier). It spreads easily and is a dipping consistency too. I made this in two ramekins (well, tapas dishes) but you can make one large one OR even make individual ones to serve at a posh dinner party (ooh, that idea just popped in my head!). Honestly. How can you compare this baked ricotta with dolloping a lump of ricotta on a cheese board? I know which one I would go for…. 😉 So….something different for your next party? – Nagi

  SaveSave

Lemon Garlic Baked Ricotta - 29Lemon Garlic Baked Ricotta - 13Lemon Garlic Baked Ricotta - 52Lemon Garlic Baked Ricotta - 7Lemon Garlic Baked Ricotta - 31