It’s probably totally uncool to admit this, but I always have cabbage in the fridge. This only started once I “grew up” and realised a) how versatile cabbage is b) how quick it is to shred (e.g. compared to carrot) and c) how long it lasts in the fridge (weeks and weeks and weeks!). Then it became a part of my regular shop. I bet I could blast off 10 quick uses for cabbage without barely taking a breath. Let’s try: OK, I did take a breath writing all that out, but you know what I mean. They just rolled right off my tongue. I mean, my keyboard. 😉

So for all those for whom cabbage is also a pantry staple – and if parmesan is also a staple – then there is every possibility you have everything you need to make this Lemon Parmesan Cabbage Salad. With chicken – if chicken is also a freezer staple! I know the combination of peas and cabbage may sound a bit unique, but it is truly a fantastic combination. Think – crunchy fresh cabbage dressed with a lemon dressing with oomph from parmesan, combined with sweet pops of peas and a touch of freshness from mint. Mint + peas are best mates, lemon and parmesan are friends with everyone. So even if you have not tried the combination of cabbage, peas, mint, lemon and parmesan before, can you imagine that it is just so right??

This is not a salad combination I came up with myself. I think it was first made popular by Karen Martini, a popular Australian chef and restauranteur. The restaurant version uses loads more oil, and she has chilli in hers. And it’s absolutely terrific. This is my home version that I’ve adapted to my taste (using much less oil!), adding a simple lemon marinated grilled chicken to make it a complete meal. Though actually, I make just the cabbage salad without the chicken more often because I always have the ingredients on hand. Oh – and the other benefit is that the dressing isn’t made in a separate jar, it’s just drizzled right on the salad then tossed. Nice for lazy salads. Oh – and another little tip. Yes, this is better made with freshly grated parmesan because it kind of dissolves into the salad. But it is still super tasty made with store bought grated parmesan, it just won’t dissolve fully. 🙂 Tell me – is it really uncool that I have cabbage in my fridge at all times?? – Nagi xx PS Not that I mind being a dag. I’ll still be popping cabbage into my trolley every week!!!

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Lemon Parmesan Cabbage Salad with Grilled Chicken recipe video! Note: The recipe is scaled down a bit in the video because I couldn’t locate my usual large salad bowl. 🙂

LIFE OF DOZER

I’m guessing he is lusting after the chicken. Not the cabbage? Just a wild guess.

SaveSave

Lemon Parmesan Cabbage Salad with Grilled Chicken - 77Lemon Parmesan Cabbage Salad with Grilled Chicken - 51Lemon Parmesan Cabbage Salad with Grilled Chicken - 88Lemon Parmesan Cabbage Salad with Grilled Chicken - 78Lemon Parmesan Cabbage Salad with Grilled Chicken - 15Lemon Parmesan Cabbage Salad with Grilled Chicken - 43Lemon Parmesan Cabbage Salad with Grilled Chicken - 46