Yotam Ottolenghi – I salute you.

Chickpea Salad

I first published this about a month after I started this website back in 2014. The fact that I, a self confessed Carb/Carnivore/Cheese Monster, published a vegan salad so early on (patience having never been my greatest virtue) and have taken it upon myself to reshoot the recipe, rewrite the post and make a recipe video for a chickpea salad should speak volumes. It’s that good. Make this for someone who is not a fan of chickpeas and I bet even they love it. First hand feedback from a Chickpea Hater. Well, Hater is a harsh word. Let’s say this person is meh when it comes to chickpeas. But her reaction to this Chickpea Salad was nothing short of enthusiastic!

The thing that makes this chickpea salad so amazing is the simple Spiced Chickpeas

I am near obsessed with this salad. I make it a LOT because I find it’s truly one of those salads I find satisfying to have as a meal. And unlike most meat-free salads, I don’t have to fight the urge to raid the pantry an hour later (thank you Mr Chickpeas, for keeping me nice and full!). Those chickpeas. Honestly. You think chickpeas are blah? Toss them in a simple spice mix and pan fry for a couple of minutes. OMG. What a transformation!!

Dressing for chickpea salad

The dressing is simple but a cut above your usual vinaigrette. Classic Yotam Ottolenghi – bright and zesty with lemon flavours but not too sharp because it’s combined with sherry vinegar and a touch of sugar. It’s one of my favourite vinaigrettes!

I take no credit for these chickpeas. Or this entire Chickpea Salad, actually. It’s adapted from a recipe from Yotam Ottolenghi’s Jerusalem cookbook which I am so obsessed with, I am seriously contemplating doing a “Julie & Julia” on it. Yotam Ottolenghi changed the way I cook. Making vegetables interesting, and salads sexy. Sorry if that word offends anyone in the context of food, but I swear I can’t think of a more suitable word in my limited vocabulary! This is one such salad. 🙂 – Nagi x

Make a meal of it – try this with a side of:

Easy Soft Flatbread Recipe (No Yeast) with Hummus (try this traditional Hummus with Lamb!) Crispy Couscous Pancake with Tomato & Onion (another Yotam Ottolenghi recipe) Add a main – Chicken Shawarma or Lamb Shawarma, Lamb Koftas or Moroccan Meatballs Rice Pilaf with Dried Fruit and Nuts

PPS Try serving it up with a dollop of yoghurt and pita bread. The Chickpea Salad is terrific for stuffing into pita bread!

WHAT TO SERVE WITH CHICKPEA SALAD

I usually serve this Chickpea Salad on its own as meal with a dollop of yoghurt and pita bread. Try it with my easy homemade flatbread! As a side, this Chickpea Salad will pair beautifully with a simple protein (because the chickpeas have lots of flavour, you wouldn’t want the main with big punchy flavours) like Crispy Pan Fried Fish or this Lemon Pepper Chicken. If you want to create a Middle Eastern Menu, try your hand at an Arabian Feast! Or have a browse of all my Middle Eastern recipes – it’s one of my favourite cuisines, I love the punchy flavours. I make this salad without the chickpeas as a side for full flavoured mains, such as Chicken Shawarma, Lamb Shawarma and Koftas.

MIDDLE EASTERN RECIPE COLLECTION

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER

Computer, coffee and Dozer eyeing off the Vegemite toast. Just another morning of work.

SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Middle Eastern Chickpea Salad - 78Middle Eastern Chickpea Salad - 45Middle Eastern Chickpea Salad - 47Middle Eastern Chickpea Salad - 12Middle Eastern Chickpea Salad - 72Middle Eastern Chickpea Salad - 58Middle Eastern Chickpea Salad - 10Middle Eastern Chickpea Salad - 74