Created in collaboration with Neff Bake It Yourself. I don’t even think about mince pies between the months of January and November, yet come December I can’t get enough of them! Juicy, sweet-yet-tart mincemeat stuffed into buttery pastry, then topped with even more pastry (or frangipane!) - totally addictive! I love making mince pies at Christmas, but then I always find myself left with half a jar of mincemeat filling. I absolutely refuse to throw it away, so I’m usually on the lookout for something to do with it.

Last year I was making mincemeat pancakes with orange butter sauce, this year I’ve been making mince pie truffles! The idea occurred to me a couple of weeks ago when I was daydreaming about my apple pie truffles.

I went with the same approach as with the apple pie truffles - crushed up shortbread for the buttery-pastry taste, melted chocolate and cream cheese for a rich, sweet, creamy centre. And of course, plenty of mincemeat and also some added cranberries. The truffles are coated in melted dark chocolate, then finished off with edible glitter and gold sprinkles for a really festive finish.

 

I’ve heard that when I get my new Neff induction hob fitted, I can melt chocolate directly in the pan - rather than using the bain marie or microwave method. Best make sure I get plenty of chocolate in so I can properly test that out……

Mince Pie Truffles Recipe:

 

Mince Pie Truffles   A Lovely Edible Gift  - 8Mince Pie Truffles   A Lovely Edible Gift  - 75Mince Pie Truffles   A Lovely Edible Gift  - 55Mince Pie Truffles   A Lovely Edible Gift  - 77Mince Pie Truffles   A Lovely Edible Gift  - 81Mince Pie Truffles   A Lovely Edible Gift  - 57Mince Pie Truffles   A Lovely Edible Gift  - 74Mince Pie Truffles   A Lovely Edible Gift  - 37Mince Pie Truffles   A Lovely Edible Gift  - 18Mince Pie Truffles   A Lovely Edible Gift  - 22