As you may know if you’ve been reading my blog, I’ve been on a mission to lose weight for Summer. I finally hit my target the day-before-yesterday - losing 14 pounds over the course of 10 weeks! It’s so nice to feel good in my clothes, and I’ve lost the weight in the right way (unlike my ridiculous diet) - slowly, without starving myself, and with a few naughty treats thrown in there too. I plateaued a little over the last couple of weeks, so I decided to lower the carbs and up the protein a little, but living without cake was simply not going to happen. So I came up with these skinny mini muffins! Around the same time, I was talking to Wheyhey about my fitness journey, and they kindly sent me some of their delicious protein ice cream. There’s strawberry, vanilla, chocolate, and banoffee flavours to choose from, and I thought these mini muffins would be finished off perfectly with a spoon of banoffee ice cream on top.

I’ve had protein ice cream before and it’s usually chalky and unnatural tasting, but the Wheyhey stuff is the best I’ve tried. Much more creamy in texture and flavour. The muffins come out at 39 calories each with 1.8g of protein (might not sound much, but it is only a little cake-bite). Topped with a heaped teaspoon of the banoffee ice cream, that brings the total calories up to 54, and the protein up to 3.8g. Which in my eyes, totally means I can have three in a row!

The kids have be taking them to school (minus the ice cream of course), and I’ve been enjoying these Mini Peanut Butter Banana Protein Muffins as a little snack - stopping me from blowing my target with a huge packet of biscuits! Now I’m at my goal weight, I’m trying to ensure this lighter, healthier way of eating sticks - without missing out on a few treats too! Are you trying to shape-up for summer at the moment? Anything working particularly well for you? I’d love to hear!

The Mini Peanut Butter Banana Protein Muffins Recipe:

Mini Peanut Butter Banana Protein Muffins - 47Mini Peanut Butter Banana Protein Muffins - 94Mini Peanut Butter Banana Protein Muffins - 25Mini Peanut Butter Banana Protein Muffins - 97Mini Peanut Butter Banana Protein Muffins - 36Mini Peanut Butter Banana Protein Muffins - 30