I almost posted a beef ragu recipe today, but realised that would be a crazy idea in this boiling hot weather! I’m sitting here in our office, just off the kitchen, with the door open to the back garden. The cat is sunbathing, and I’m wearing flip flips and the floatiest clothes I could find. Normally I’m a wuss, and the first hint of a breeze has me looking for a cardie, but I can see that today is not going to be a cardie day! What an amazing weekend! Chris got through his first full week at Kitchen Sanctuary, and I think he loved it! Hold on, let me ask him……

Ok, he’s got a busy look on his face, but he says it was amazing (in a somewhat sarcastic voice). He’s currently wearing his scruffy Christmas elf t-shirt, which I think is one of the things he loves most about working at home. After spending all last week being extra good with food, and getting up early to work out (yes, me, the morning hater at at 6:30 am most mornings!), we went in completely the opposite direction over the weekend. Saturday afternoon was spent preparing for a BBQ and gin-tasting get-together. After far too many gins - here’s our gin brainstorming board btw….. I can reveal that my favourite remains the Hendricks with Fever-Tree tonic + cucumber. Very close second was Bathtub gin, with Mediterranean Fever-Tree, plus a light salt-rim on the glass and a decent sprig of rosemary. We stuffed ourselves with BBQ leg of lamb, slow-cooked ribs, hassleback potatoes, caprese pastry bites, garlic prawns and cod with garlic, lemon and rosemary. As it that wasn’t enough, we finished off with a huge pot of melted chocolate with lots of dippy things. So now I’m back to being good. It’s easy to eat salads and iced coffee (Mmmmm coffee cubes) in this heat, but I so want to scoff this ice cream.

An easy no-churn version, swirled with lemon curd (you can make your own, although I cheated and used some good-quality store bought stuff), and sprinkled with shortbread biscuits. SO GOOD!

The No-Churn Lemon Shortbread Ice Cream Recipe:

No Churn Lemon Shortbread Ice Cream - 78No Churn Lemon Shortbread Ice Cream - 45No Churn Lemon Shortbread Ice Cream - 64No Churn Lemon Shortbread Ice Cream - 19No Churn Lemon Shortbread Ice Cream - 41No Churn Lemon Shortbread Ice Cream - 34No Churn Lemon Shortbread Ice Cream - 35No Churn Lemon Shortbread Ice Cream - 50No Churn Lemon Shortbread Ice Cream - 40