I’m a big fan of one pot chicken and rice recipes like Baked Rotisserie Chicken with Garlic Butter Rice, Chinese Chicken and Rice, Cheesy Chicken Broccoli and Rice and Chicken and Rice Pilaf. Big flavours, two dishes made in ONE pot!

One Pot Mexican Chicken and Rice

I’m dedicating this One Pot Meal to all the other people out there who a) love Mexican food b) love flavour explosions; and c) hate washing up 🙂 The idea to make this came about when I saw this Oven Baked Mexican Rice by Imma at African Bites, one of my favourite blogs. I wondered if I could cook chicken in the same pot to make it a complete meal. And it worked! Well, the second time it did. The first time I used the same rice to liquid ratio that Imma uses and did not take into account that the chicken releases juices while cooking so the rice was too soft and mushy. Also I adjusted the amount of flavourings in my rice because there is no sauce with this chicken so I wanted the rice to be well flavoured so it could be eaten plain.

The chicken is rubbed with classic Fajita flavours, then seared until brown. I used bone-in chicken thighs with the skin on because I love the crispy skin and I believe that bone-in meats are always juicier. But this recipe works really well with chicken thigh as well (or drumsticks). I personally have not made it with chicken breast because I find chicken breast too dry for this type of recipe (i.e. no sauce or soup). I would love to hear if you give this a try! This really is a strong flavoured dish because of the spices used in it. The heat comes from a touch of cayenne pepper – you can adjust this to your taste, or substitute with another hot spice or even a dash of your favourite hot sauce! – Nagi

One Pot Chicken and Rice Collection

I’m a big fan of cooking chicken and rice together – for the extra flavour you get! Less washing up is a bonus. 🙂

One Pan Baked Chicken with Garlic Butter Rice – Seasoned chicken baked with a fluffy buttery garlic rice Sticky Baked Chicken with Fruit and Nut Pilaf One Pan Baked Chicken Shawarma with Chickpea Pilaf Baked Lemon Pepper Chicken with Creamy Risotto One Pot Chinese Chicken and Rice – it’s like Chinese chicken AND fried rice, all made in one pot!

 

One Pot Mexican Chicken and Rice - 33One Pot Mexican Chicken and Rice - 66One Pot Mexican Chicken and Rice - 43One Pot Mexican Chicken and Rice - 71