I don’t take credit for the recipe or name. It’s also 9 months overdue. 🙂 It’s a copycat of a Chorizo, Black Bean and Corn Salsa I had at a Mexican restaurant in Coffs Harbour (northern NSW in Australia) that I visited on a girls weekend away. In fact, it was the only time we left the beautiful beachfront holiday rental we stayed at, other than a 20 minute walk down the beach. Fly and flop holidays. Gotta love ’em! So quite simply, we ordered a Chorizo Salsa as a starter. We loved it. My friends said I should make it. So I did. Then it took me 9 months to share it here. 😁

This is a terrific salsa for scooping up with corn chips, or spooning over a simple grilled piece of protein. I usually serve salsa with fish and chicken because the flavour is more mild than red meats. Especially a salsa like this which is loaded with chorizo. Ahhh chorizo, chorizo. How I love thee! It’s the other bacon. I may even dare to say it’s better than bacon. 😉

All those deep red juices (OK, let’s just call it what it is – FAT) that the chorizo leeches when pan fried forms part of the dressing for this Pig Out Salsa. Though there is a simple extra dressing I make as well, to freshen up the overall flavours. Not much – you don’t need much because the Chorizo packs a serious flavour punch. It’s mainly the vinegar I want, to freshen it up. Avocado would go terrific with this, as would cucumbers. I made this with black beans because it is in the spirit of a Mexican Salsa, but any beans would be great. Though if you are planning to use it as a salsa for scooping, stick with small beans otherwise it becomes a bit of a balancing act to keep on your chips! – Nagi x PS I didn’t use Mexican Chorizo because we don’t get them here in Australia. But both Spanish and Mexican Chorizo do pack a similar flavour punch, I’m pretty sure most people outside of Mexico wouldn’t know the difference in flavour. I wouldn’t – at least, not served like this. So any Chorizo will be great in this, as long as it is raw chorizo, not cured chorizo which is like salami i.e. can be eaten without cooking.

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Pig Out Salsa recipe video! (aka. Chorizo, Black Bean and Corn Salsa)

LIFE OF DOZER

Cold nose?? 🤔

SaveSave

Pig Out Salsa  Chorizo  Black Bean and Corn Salsa  - 7Pig Out Salsa  Chorizo  Black Bean and Corn Salsa  - 10Pig Out Salsa  Chorizo  Black Bean and Corn Salsa  - 44Pig Out Salsa  Chorizo  Black Bean and Corn Salsa  - 47Pig Out Salsa  Chorizo  Black Bean and Corn Salsa  - 38