I think it was the hottest day of our Disney trip last year when we came across Dole whip. A proper eyes rolling back into the head moment when we took that first taste! It’s pineapple-y, creamy, thick and refreshingly cold. I’ve had it on my list to try to recreate ever since, but I thought i’d wait until the warmer months. I’m a bit nesh, and icy cold snacks don’t appeal to me when it’s anything colder than strappy t-shirt weather. And then I realised it was Cinco De Mayo coming up, and I happened upon a nice looking bottle of tequila whilst out shopping…… Seemed like the perfect opportunity to try Dole whip with a twist!!

The recipe uses frozen pineapple for a good hit of pineapple taste, whilst providing the frozen element needed to get that thick, spoonable texture. I also use tinned coconut cream (I buy tinned coconut milk, and then just use the solid part, leaving the coconut liquid behind). It’s a bit cheaper than buying tins of coconut cream. Then it’s a case of adding tequila plus triple sec or Cointreau and a good squeeze of lime, and whizzing it all up until thick and creamy. Soooooo gooooood!!!!

I use my Nutribullet, as it seems to handle the frozen pineapple well, ensuring a smooth finish. The result should be deliciously thick. If you want it even thicker, blend in half a cup of crushed ice too. I find that ensures it’s thick enough that you can spoon it into a piping bag with the end cut off, and pipe the Dole Whip Margarita into the glass - just like the Disney version (with a good kick. Definitely not one t0 let the kids try!).

The Pineapple Dole Whip Margarita Recipe:

   

Pineapple Dole Whip Margarita - 28Pineapple Dole Whip Margarita - 33Pineapple Dole Whip Margarita - 59Pineapple Dole Whip Margarita - 90Pineapple Dole Whip Margarita - 57Pineapple Dole Whip Margarita - 35