A perfect accompaniment to your afternoon cup of tea - this cake is full of vibrant spring flavours. I spotted this recipe whilst perusing through Delicious Magazine last week. I’m a bit of a hoarder when it comes to food magazines, and I still get a buzz when Delicious or Good Food arrives through the letterbox. I’ve got hundreds of copies stashed on various bookshelves, and they’re slowly taking over the conservatory. I do go back and look at old copies every now and then, but probably not enough to justify keeping them all…. Once our extension works starts in the next month or so, I’ve got a horrible feeling I’m going to have to part with most of them during the de-cluttering process (boo hoo!!). So for once, I saw a recipe, got the ingredients and made it - rather than stashing it away to make letter (probably never to see the light of day again). And let me tell you, this cake (or tart? I suppose technically it’s a cake because it has no crust, but it’s baked in a flan dish, which almost makes me want to call it a tart) is so tasty!

Big pieces of fresh rhubarb resting prettily on top of an orange and almond base; An almond base that’s got crushed amaretti biscuits mixed in!! Such a great idea! I went with the suggestion in the magazine of serving this with some sweetened whipped cream, spiked with a little amaretto (love amaretto, but it only seems to come out either at christmas, or when I’m making homemade amaretti or peach and almond tart).

The top is brushed with a syrup made of orange juice and sugar that’s been infused with fresh rosemary. Usually I’m not keen on rosemary (reminds me of eating soap), but it works well in the syrup - giving it a nice tang - without the soapiness. I hope you like my Rhubarb and Amaretti Cake, If you are like me and LOVE amaretti then you need to check out my amaretti cookies, they are divine.

Are you a food magazine hoarder too? I’d love to hear of any great recipes you’ve made from a mag lately. This is adapted from a recipe from May 2016 edition of Delicious magazine.

The Rhubarb and Amaretti Cake Recipe:

 

Rhubarb and Amaretti Cake - 3Rhubarb and Amaretti Cake - 89Rhubarb and Amaretti Cake - 72Rhubarb and Amaretti Cake - 20Rhubarb and Amaretti Cake - 93Rhubarb and Amaretti Cake - 34Rhubarb and Amaretti Cake - 46