Try it for dinner tonight – as a side, or as the main. Or as a healthy, low carb snack at a gathering!

Roasted Parmesan Crusted Cauliflower

This Roasted Parmesan Crusted Cauliflower is the low carb, healthier version of these Parmesan Crusted Potatoes I shared a few weeks ago. Because I felt so bad for everyone who left wailing messages along the lines of “I’m trying to be healthy! What are you doing to me!!!?”. Then there was one sensible lady who calmly asked “This looks terrific. Do you have any suggestions for  other vegetables this could be made with?” And here is my sensible response – Parmesan Crusted CAULIFLOWER!!! The most amazing cauliflower recipe ever – full stop!

This is an unbelievably delicious way to roast cauliflower!

I must confess, I thought it would be as easy as swapping the potatoes for the cauliflower. But actually, it didn’t work that well, it came out quite soggy. Which, logically, makes sense because cauliflower has more water in it than potatoes. So it took a few goes to get it right. I added a little panko breadcrumbs to add crunch, reduced the oil a touch (too much oil actually makes the crust soggy with cauliflower, unlike with potatoes), I bake it for a few minutes after turning the cauliflower to reveal the gorgeous crust to add a bit of extra crunch. And the small yet big change I made was to eliminate salt altogether. Potatoes can take alot of salt. Cauliflower cannot. So the parmesan alone is enough salt for cauliflower. Though if you have a very salty palette, you may wish to sprinkle some on at the end. But try it first without adding extra salt, see what you think.

How to serve Parmesan Crusted Roasted Cauliflower

I know the obvious way to serve this Parmesan Crusted Cauliflower is as a side. But I think it also makes a very satisfying vegetarian meal. Cauliflower is quite meaty, don’t you think? You can even make cauliflower steaks using this recipe. Imagine that! This was actually my lunch on the day I photographed this – see below. I made some couscous, stirred through butter, salt, pepper and sliced spinach. Added tomatoes on the side, piled on the cauliflower. Not a bad lunch! ~ Nagi x

More cauliflower recipes

Cauliflower Cheese Garlic Butter Cauliflower Pasta with Pangrattato Roasted Cauliflower with Almond Sauce (Ester Restaurant) Roasted Cauliflower Salad with Crunchy Bread Chunks Creamy, Dreamy Cauliflower Soup Chipotle Lime Roasted Cauliflower

PS The crust is on one side only. So one side has nice browning from the roasting, and the other side is crusted with the parmesan. 🙂

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Roasted Parmesan Crusted Cauliflower recipe video!

In case you missed it…

Crispy Parmesan Roasted Potatoes!

LIFE OF DOZER

Size perspective – this is at the foot of my queen size bed…. He’s 40kg / 80 lb!!!!!

SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Roasted Parmesan Crusted Cauliflower - 38Roasted Parmesan Crusted Cauliflower - 2Roasted Parmesan Crusted Cauliflower - 14Roasted Parmesan Crusted Cauliflower - 30Roasted Parmesan Crusted Cauliflower - 70Roasted Parmesan Crusted Cauliflower - 94Roasted Parmesan Crusted Cauliflower - 88Roasted Parmesan Crusted Cauliflower - 13