AN IRRESISTIBLE SWEET POTATO SALAD!

This is a terrific “meaty” salad that’s loaded with fantastic textures and flavours, and is filling enough to serve as a main. The combination of peppery fresh rocket / arugula leaves, the sweet potato with the caramelised edges, the soft crunch of pecans with the salty feta then finished with lemony honey dressing is irresistible. One bite, and you’ll go back for more and more!

THE BEST WAY TO ROAST SWEET POTATOES

Every time I roast sweet potatoes, I wonder why I don’t make it more often. So juicy and soft on the inside, naturally sweet, and caramelises beautifully on the outside. I can’t think of another vegetable that caramelises this well. Not even pumpkin – it gets too mushy before it caramelises like this. I’ve experimented roasting sweet potatoes in various ways, and I find I get the best results using olive oil and roasting it in a stinking hot oven. While butter has a lovely flavour, it burns at high oven temperatures. I’ve tried using a mix of butter and oil too, but still found that the butter became too bitter.

Though sweet potato is already sweet, it pairs perfectly with a Honey Lemon Dressing. I promise it’s not too sweet! I’m a savoury girl, so I’m very particular about the level of sweetness in savoury foods. The honey just takes the edge off the sharpness of the lemon, as well as thickening it so the dressing clings to the salad.

I’ve made this a ridiculous number of times over the past month or so. It’s my current obsession. I’m really into salads at the moment. Salads as meals. I’ve got a few more favorites coming up in the next few weeks, I hope you like them! This is also a salad that regularly has a place during holiday feasting. Christmas, Thanksgiving and Easter. 🙂 It’s a terrific side because it’s something a little more interesting that the usual garden salad, and it’s a total crowd pleaser. Hope you enjoy! – Nagi x

LIFE OF DOZER

What? Dozer doesn’t like sweet potato peel? 😮

SaveSave

Roasted Sweet Potato Salad with Honey Lemon Dressing - 17Roasted Sweet Potato Salad with Honey Lemon Dressing - 94Roasted Sweet Potato Salad with Honey Lemon Dressing - 87Roasted Sweet Potato Salad with Honey Lemon Dressing - 9Roasted Sweet Potato Salad with Honey Lemon Dressing - 50Roasted Sweet Potato Salad with Honey Lemon Dressing - 77Roasted Sweet Potato Salad with Honey Lemon Dressing - 31