This is about to be the best apple crumble recipe you will ever need. It is easy, uses a handful of ingredients perfect on a cold weather. Let me show you how to make the best apple crisp in easy steps, it is as good as my vanilla sponge cake and blueberry gallate.

Simple apple crumble recipe literally the best in the whole wide world

Apple crumble is extremely easy to make, the only job here is coring and peeling the apples. You would be happy to know that you do not need to peel the skin off the apple in other to enjoy this pie.I love me a thick and chunky layer of crumble topping to the apple itself. I am not alone on this as my family enjoys it this way also. Left to my children, they would have the crunchy crumble with ice cream alone and leave me with the apples.For my simple apple crumble recipe, I added a good amount of cinnamon and Nutmeg but you can do without it if you are not a fan. In the absence of these warm spices, I used mixed spices instead. It gives the pie a heavenly taste, hence why I use them.  With this recipe you are promised perfectly cooked gooey apples with the right amount of syrup. There is no room for dry, watery or soggy topping. This crumble here is crispy all the way, a scoop of ice cream or custard, hmnnn, you are in dessert heaven. Oh, this recipe freezes well too. I have perfected how to make it over the years, that I am proud to say I don’t do store bought anymore, especially since it is easy to make. The process is straight forward too, you core and chop the apples, add spices and brown or white sugar, add to a baking dish then sprinkle over with crumble toppings made with either flour or oats and you can even have both. Which is what today’s recipe is about, yes, it’s that simple!

Ingredients to make this recipe

Apples: I like red apples but you can use any other type of apple of choice. Popular types of apples used are granny smith apples but I usually go for Fiji or gala for more sweetness Grated nutmeg Cinnamon: about half a teaspoon All-purpose flour: substitute for self raising flour Butter: you can use melted butter or cold softened. I use cold butter Light Brown Sugar White sugar Lemon juice Salt: I love to add a pinch to the topping to balance the sweetness

How to make simple apple crumble in easy steps

Preheat the oven at 180C/375F and prepare the baking dish Peel, core and chop the apples and transfer into the baking pan. Add flour, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, mix to combine then add half the juice of half a lemon and stir to combine In another bowl, combine, oat, flour, brown sugar, cold butter and a pinch of salt, rub with your fingers until your get a breadcrumbs-like consistency. Some chunks are allowed too. Sprinkle the crumble toppings on the prepared apple fillings Bake in an oven for 35 to 40 minutes until the the topping is crispy, golden and apple filling bubbly. Remove from the oven, stand for a few minute and Serve with ice cream or custard. 

Tips

Check on the apple crumble after about 20 minutes and if it looks like the top is burning, cover loosely with an aluminium foil so that the apple can cook up nicely on the inside too I have kept the crumble topping as classic as possible but you can make it your own. Skip brown sugar for white sugar or use a mixture of both, add a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg to the mix for additional flavour in the absence of nutmeg or cinnamon, use mixed spice.

More dessert recipes

Coffee cake Simple orange cake If you made this easy apple crisp recipe, don’t forget to leave me feedback. Tag me @thedinnerbite on Instagram and save away to your Pinterest. Please subscribe to the blog if you haven’t for free new recipes in your inbox weekly. DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE? PLEASE RATE IT AND LEAVE ME A COMMENT. USE #THEDINNERBITE OR TAG @THEDINNERBITE ON INSTAGRAM SO I CAN SEE YOUR PHOTOS, I WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOUR CREATIONS. THANK YOU!

Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 92Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 13Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 87Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 15Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 8Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 53Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 59Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 9Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 80Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 66Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 96Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 10Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 94Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 43Simple Apple Crumble  Apple Crisp  - 47