An elegant smoked salmon egg breakfast

I think breakfast is the hardest meal when it comes to being creative. I am always scouring bistro breakfast menus, trying to get inspiration for new ideas. Do-able ones that don’t require gourmet ingredients or special equipment. I like to try to make something different from the usual bacon and egg fry up when I have friends over for brunch. Which I seem to be doing more often nowadays as opposed to hitting up the nightclubs in town. Who am I kidding? I literally cannot remember the last time I went clubbing with friends. Or stayed out past midnight for that matter. 😉 Nothing in particular inspired me to come up with this. I was out walking my dog, wondering what I’d make for brunch with friends this weekend when the idea popped into my head. Made it, loved it, shot it, ate it. And now I’m sharing it with you! Wait. I lied. This is actually what happened: Made it, ate half of them, loved them, shot the remaining half and will eat them shortly. 😉

I made this with smoked salmon because it’s a pleasant change from bacon which I always seem to include in my breakfast recipes. Because…well, bacon. It just makes everything SO good. And I was sorely tempted to use bacon for this but actually, I think smoked salmon works better because it’s delicate and soft so it kind of becomes one with the scrambled eggs, forming a soft filling to sandwich together the crackly puff pastry. But this recipe lends itself to all sorts of ideas for the filling. Shaved ham would be a great alternative to smoked salmon. Or chopped antipasto ingredients to put an Italian spin on it. Prosciutto would also work well. And if you really can’t do without your morning bacon hit, then use bacon! (Though I do suggest chopping it and piling it on the eggs, much easier to cut through than a crispy piece of bacon). Oh, before I sign off, one last thing – you only need one sheet of puff pastry to make 8 of these because after the puff pastry is baked, you split it in half horizontally. I made 8, ate 2 for breakfast, 2 for lunch and shot 4 for this post. 🙂 Happy weekend! Are you staying in for brunch this weekend? Do! Coffee refills are free and you can stay in your PJ’s all day!  – Nagi PS I’ve written very clear instructions for how to make soft, moist scrambled eggs. If I hear of anyone vigorously stirring eggs in the pan so the end up looking like cooked ground (mince) meat, you have to go sit in the naughty corner!

More smoked salmon recipes

Smoked Salmon Dip – the dip version of the smoked salmon spread Salmon Quiche Smoked Salmon Appetizer Bites Smoked Salmon Potato Rosti Stack

  SaveSave

Smoked Salmon and Egg Breakfast Mille feuille - 2Smoked Salmon and Egg Breakfast Mille feuille - 28Smoked Salmon and Egg Breakfast Mille feuille - 94Smoked Salmon and Egg Breakfast Mille feuille - 22Smoked Salmon and Egg Breakfast Mille feuille - 23Smoked Salmon and Egg Breakfast Mille feuille - 85