A super-quick but super yummy post for you today. This is my rum sorbet float! Things have been a bit crazy around here recently. I told myself I could still get three posts a week out to my lovely readers over summer, but frankly that idea was completely insane. Let me see…

School holidays involving lots of short trips, longer trips and visits to family and attractions Starting building work on our extension at home Chris and Gracey’s birthdays Deadlines for my regular freelance work A looming live cook-off that almost makes me want to faint every time I think about it (more about that coming soon - probably from hospital after I’ve tripped up on stage and landed face-first in a pan of hot custard)

My head was close to exploding! So I decided to make up a new cocktail. Spiced Kraken rum poured over a glass of lime juice and lemonade, then topped off with a good scoop of lemon sorbet. Here’s what it looks like before the sorbet bit. I love that layering (unfortunately it does need mixing before you drink it, otherwise you’re just going to be drinking straight rum at the end!).

The sorbet adds a gorgeous creamy-citrus kick to the whole thing, which is too good on a hot summers day. Let’s face it, not many hot days left, so I may have to continue buying sorbet into Autumn! The cocktail went down so well, I couldn’t resist taking a few photos - which meant making more cocktails. Oops.

A couple more weeks to go until the kids are back at school and I can try to get back into a routine again with work. It’s going to be pretty strange pretending not to get engrossed in episodes of iCarly and Sam&Cat when I’m supposed to be cooking and writing!

Spiced Rum Float Recipe:

     

Spiced Rum Float - 24Spiced Rum Float - 36Spiced Rum Float - 3Spiced Rum Float - 70Spiced Rum Float - 60Spiced Rum Float - 74