Being an Aussie fortunate enough to have many readers from all around the world – and I really do many from all around the world (!!!!) – one of the things I’m very mindful of is sharing a selection of recipes suited to varying climates. And right now – January and February – are always the toughest months because the seasonal difference is at its most extreme. When I’m sweltering in the height of summer when it’s 40C/104F without a whisper of a breeze (reminder: I live in a house with no air conditioning!!) and I know it’s minus-something where some of you are, and you’re shovelling snow off your driveway so you can drive to work, I want to share winter comfort foods to warm your soul. But I also want to share the quick-cook fresh meals for me and all the other Aussies and readers enjoying warmer / stinking hot weather. So newcomers to my site during Jan/Feb each year are probably very baffled when they see my latest recipes wildly swinging between hot winter soups and stews and summery salads and cocktails! That’s a long winded way of leading into why I’m happy to be sharing a (fairly) climate neutral recipe today!!! Sure, pasta is probably not the first thing you think of when it’s really REALLY stinking hot. But generally, I’ll make quick-cook pastas like this Spicy Chilli Prawn Pasta all year round.

There are prawn pastas, then there are prawn pastas. A serious proper sauce for prawn pastas is simmered for hours and hours using the heads and shells of the prawns. If you want to try a restaurant style one, try this Lemon Prawn Pasta which is made using this technique. This one is not one of those serious prawn pastas. This is pretty much the opposite end of the spectrum – but without sacrificing flavour. If you follow my recipe directions exactly, this honestly takes 15 minutes to make. And if I do say so myself, it is darn tasty thanks to a little secret ingredient in the sauce: Anchovies. Yes. Anchovies. No, you can’t taste any anchovy fishiness. It just dissolves in the sauce and adds that extra umami* which takes this quick sauce from “nice” to “OMG this is so good!!!”

  • Regular readers know I don’t usually throw around fancy foodie words, but in this case I don’t know how else to describe that savouriness that anchovies brings to this sauce other than to to say it adds an extra umami to it. So umami, which is actually a Japanese word, means “savoury taste” which, together with sweetness, sourness, bitterness, and saltiness, make up the 5 basic tastes.

In addition to the little extra something the anchovy brings to the sauce, the hit of heat from the dried chilli flakes works wonders too. For me, those two elements make this a sneaky little recipe to keep in your back pocket to whip out on busy weeknights and also when you’re having company. Impress the pants off your family and friends, and hold back that smug smile knowing that it was actually a total breeze to make. But lap up the compliments. You totally deserve it. 😉 – Nagi x PS I know most of you already know, but Prawns in Australia and other Commonwealth countries = Shrimp in other countries. PPS Does anyone know who is responsible for prawns vs shrimp, coriander vs cilantro, scallions vs green onions vs shallots, courgettes vs zucchini, Fahrenheit vs Celsius? I’d like a word with them. 🤔 PPPS Notice all the sauce is stuck on the pasta so it all ends up in your mouth, not sitting in a pool at the bottom of the bowl. Don’t skip step 6!

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Spicy Chilli Prawn Pasta recipe video!

LIFE OF DOZER

He shamelessly trades off his looks.

Spicy Chilli Prawn Pasta  Shrimp  - 1Spicy Chilli Prawn Pasta  Shrimp  - 92Spicy Chilli Prawn Pasta  Shrimp  - 67Spicy Chilli Prawn Pasta  Shrimp  - 33Spicy Chilli Prawn Pasta  Shrimp  - 33Spicy Chilli Prawn Pasta  Shrimp  - 91Spicy Chilli Prawn Pasta  Shrimp  - 33Spicy Chilli Prawn Pasta  Shrimp  - 38