To all of you non-UK folk out there - have you ever heard of a Bakewell tart? Living in the UK (in fact i’m only about 30 miles from the town of Bakewell) I’m lucky enough to get my fair share of Bakewell tart. I’ve heard that you can’t get it in the USA! Oh my goodness! If I was ever going to emigrate, forget the English teabags and sausage rolls - my suitcase would be full of Bakewell tarts.

They consist of a pastry base, a layer of cherry or raspberry jam and a topping of almond frangipane and flaked almonds. If you ever visit the UK you’ve got to try one. If you don’t manage a visit to the UK, then bake these blondies instead! I first created these squidgy treats for DIYs.com and I couldn’t wait to get them up here to share with you guys!

Full of almond and cherry flavour, they really are reminiscent of Bakewell tart - but with the added bonus of fat, juicy cherries and chunks of white chocolate too. They’re moist, and very moreish. One slice definitely isn’t enough!

Squidgy Cherry and Almond Blondies Recipe:

 

Squidgy Cherry and Almond Blondies  aka Cherry Bakewell Blondies  - 31Squidgy Cherry and Almond Blondies  aka Cherry Bakewell Blondies  - 69Squidgy Cherry and Almond Blondies  aka Cherry Bakewell Blondies  - 86Squidgy Cherry and Almond Blondies  aka Cherry Bakewell Blondies  - 60Squidgy Cherry and Almond Blondies  aka Cherry Bakewell Blondies  - 69Squidgy Cherry and Almond Blondies  aka Cherry Bakewell Blondies  - 48