This recipe is made using one of my master sauce recipe, this Peanut Sauce for Stir Fries. Like my All Purpose Stir Fry Sauce, it can be used for any stir fry or noodles using a “formula” (provided in the recipe) and forms the basis for many recipes I’ve shared over the years!

Peanut Sauce Noodles

This stir fried Peanut Sauce Noodles is made using the Peanut Sauce for Stir Fries that I published on Wednesday. In that post, I provided the sauce recipe and a “formula” to make stir fries using whatever you have. In this recipe, I’m providing specific ingredient quantities for the pictured noodle stir fry. I won’t go on and on about the Peanut Sauce again because I did enough of that on Wednesday! In a nutshell – it’s a gem of a recipe, adapted from an original recipe given to me by a reader. One of those recipes that tastes a lot more complicated than it is – because Asian Peanut Sauces usually have a fairly lengthy list of ingredients, but this one is very straight forward.

If peanut butter sandwiches and basic Asian pantry essentials are a staple in your household, you can probably make these Peanut Sauce Noodles right now. The beauty of (most) stir fries is that there are no rules about what vegetables and proteins go into them. I’d say that 90% of the stir fries I make involve rummaging around in the bottom of my fridge, rather than specifically shopping for ingredients to make something.

Ingredients in Stir Fried Peanut Sauce Noodles

This Peanut Sauce Noodles recipe is made with leftover ingredients from Chicken Chow Mein I had the previous day. It has exactly the same ingredients:

chicken onion & garlic carrot bean sprouts cabbage

I like to use chicken thigh because it’s juicier than breast and tenderloin. If I make this with chicken breast, I always tenderise it using a Chinese restaurant technique using baking soda (bi-carb). It’s super simple, see directions here: How to Velvet Chicken.

I like the combination of vegetables in this Peanut Sauce Noodles because they are stringy, “noodle shaped” if you will, so they sort of seem to disappear in the noodles once tossed through with Sauce. This stir fry serves 2 and there’s a fair mound of vegetables in this – over 4 cups. But looking at these photos, one would never guess. The ultimate way with hidden veggies??? – Nagi x

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER 

Fellow dog owners – do you find your dog always sprawls in the most trodden path?? I must’ve stepped over him 20 or 30 times as I ran back and forth between the kitchen and the shoot area. Not once did it cross my mind to tell him to move. Who rules the house???! PS And to those who are new to it – introducing Dozer’s Modesty Daisy.

Stir Fried Peanut Sauce Noodles - 38Stir Fried Peanut Sauce Noodles - 36Stir Fried Peanut Sauce Noodles - 13Stir Fried Peanut Sauce Noodles - 48Stir Fried Peanut Sauce Noodles - 63Stir Fried Peanut Sauce Noodles - 32