One heck of a meat-free meal, this veggie-based bibimbap is packed with flavour! I like this one as a bit of a treat lunch, but it makes a great dinner too.  If you already have some cooked rice to hand, you can have this meal ready in 10 minutes. Wilted spinach and golden brown, well-seasoned mushrooms are some of my favourite veggies, and they’re taken to a new level with a good slug of Korean gochujang. I only came across this stuff a few months ago and I’m totally hooked. Added to soups and sauces, drizzled on veggies or served as a dipping sauce, you need a bottle of this stuff in your fridge!

So what’s the latest in your lives? August has been really busy for me. Not just because I’ve been working hard, but also keeping the kids entertained during the school holidays, and trying to prepare for, and then work around the new extension we’re building. The plan is to add a garage, small utility room and study on the side of the house, and then knock the back wall of the house out and extend the kitchen. I’m so excited! but I know it’s going to take at least a few months, so in the meantime I have all of my kitchen stuff stored in Gracey’s room, and the rest of the house seems to be filled with piles of things that keep getting shifted from one place to another. In an effort to actually get some blog work done (and to give the kids a treat) I’ve brought the kids to my mum and dad’s house for a week. Poor Chris has been left at home (he’s got to work at the office in the day, then will probably be helping with some of the building work in the evenings) whilst I’m enjoying being fed and pampered by mum. She even left fresh towels on my bed and filled the cupboard with chocolate biscuits. I love my folks.

So I’m sitting on the bed, catching up on some writing, whilst the kids are making ‘potions’ in the garden (some kind of herb/mud/petal combination I think). I made this recipe for Superfood magazine a few months ago, and it’s been remade in various different guises since then. With chicken, without the egg, with quinoa, without beansprouts, with thinly sliced raw cabbage etc etc. It’s one of those dishes you can make differently every week for a year - depending on what you’ve got in the fridge at the time. Go get some gochujang and try it for dinner, hopefully you’ll love it as much as I do.

The Vegetable Bibimbap Recipe:

   

Vegetable Bibimbap - 70Vegetable Bibimbap - 29Vegetable Bibimbap - 77Vegetable Bibimbap - 89Vegetable Bibimbap - 1