The kids are back at school and Easter is now officially over! We still have a few more bits of chocolate left to eat, but the chocolate consumption is tailing off - along with the children’s chocolate-induced hyperactivity. I’m ashamed to say that I also haven’t managed to make it to the gym in TWO WEEKS! Trying to juggle the kids, the trail of mess that the kids constantly make, plus the blog and numerous family days out - and something had to give. I may have been a little over-enthusiastic in choosing which thing had to go…. But it’s time to get back on track now. Time to start telling myself I love the gym. It’s me time. I’ll feel fantastic afterwards. Yes definitely. After these blondies have all been eaten (and possibly the raspberry ripple doughnuts I’ve got coming up on the blog soon too). Definitely after that.

Pistachios are so underrated. I’ve got to admit that on their own I find them a bit dull.  Plus I usually end up over-examining them - the purply greenish hue always fools me into thinking they’re mouldy! Add a bit of sweetness though and the pistachio flavour seems to intensify.  Pistachio ice-cream for example? or Pistachio fudge? Yes! And then there’s this White Chocolate and Pistachio Blondies Cake. Just chewy and dense enough to call it a blondie (thanks to the ground almonds), but also sweet and rich (thanks to the white chocolate).  The addition of a good handful of chopped pistachios in the mix, plus a few on top with an extra drizzle of white chocolate and we have the perfect sweet/chocolate/pistachio ratio. These blondies are really easy to make.  No mixer required! They’re so moreish that they’ll be gone in no time - especially served with a cup of coffee for an afternoon pick-me-up. I also find that cutting them into smaller, bite-size chunks, they make a great end to a meal (especially after Indian food). Oh darn it. Now I’m thinking about lovely creamy curries as well as cake. I think I’d better go to the gym right now……

White Chocolate and Pistachio Blondies Recipe:

White Chocolate and Pistachio Blondies - 93White Chocolate and Pistachio Blondies - 19White Chocolate and Pistachio Blondies - 43White Chocolate and Pistachio Blondies - 92